Add action to words

All of us want to live a more effective life. And in this age of so many Leaders and management gurus – who are writing ever innovative stuff to make your life more successful and your time in life more managed – Its easier than before to see a path that shall take one to their required “Nirvana“.
There are so many books of so many motivational authors – from great Stephen Covey to Learned and contemporary Peter Bragan – who teach us on how to plan our lives in the most effective ways and never lose sight of what we wish to achieve and monitor ourselves everyday for our daily targets. Many authors suggest 30-60-90 days plan and also suggest that adding parameters like when and where shall help us achieve what we set out for that day / week / month or year.
Similarly there are countless books written on staying fit and healthy by eating healthy and balanced diet. All kinds of Yoga and meditation, new forms of dances which are hybrids and offshoots of aerobics   everything is suggested. Meditation is termed key.

And then so many of those on life and relationships – how to feel happy about yourself, your work, your relationships etc.. and not be dependent on others for  your actions and reactions. Moral being you hold the key to your happiness.

Then why is it that – though we have access to the best remedies to our respective roadblocks for a fulfilling life – Yet, we are struggling. We are surely not dumb folks. We know knowledge is power and all the words we read in these books are knowledge then what are we lacking?
I will share here my personal experience of while I was feeling at the bottom and being at my lowest troughs in life. And these are truly the times when you are desperately seeking for that one mantra – magic words – that you can lay your hands on that will make you feel better. And I did what most of us do. Hunt down for the most popular books and read the stuff and felt so elated that I could dig gold in it because all of it seemed to make sense. While going through various chapters and stages of the book – it seemed like once I am done with the book all my issues will be resolved and I am going to be the most happy and effective human that ever walked the planet.
So I complete my book, feel happy about it and thank god that I got what I needed and am happy I dont anymore feel the world has ended. I can see a bright light at the end of the tunnel.

But a few days and weeks later – I have another set of problems and I am repeating my process of finding salvation. Another tunnel and another set of light. The story keeps repeating. And we do find some ways to find some alternate solutions eventually.
But what can we do to truly get enlightened and not have to go through the initial pain while looking for a new help everyday – until we find it. Again – I am not talking about different types of guidance required for different types of problems. I am talking about looking for new help everyday for same type of problem.

Well, its easy – it truly is – PUT ACTIONS TO WORDS and thoughts built from the words. What seems to really happen is – when we are reading a management book that is helping us build our roadmap to our goals or understand our relationships in life better or helping us understand our food habits and how to manage our cravings – all that we read seems so logical and agreeable that we dont question it , we dont think about it when we are reading. We act more like reviewers and just put a check against that seems doable to us . We keep planning to follow what is written. And most of us succeed to a certain level before we give up.

What we need to do is :

  • Firstly, figure out your true problem.
  • Review the solutions that seem most suitable and doable
  • Breath it in totality and leave no exceptions Put true ACTIONS to each word.
  • Practice it DAILY – EVERY MINUTE

Dont give up on practicing the ritual – just because the days are less challenging and you seem to be attaining the stability.  This discipline is the core pillar of maintaining this stability in your life.

Wishing you luck in leading a fulfilling life!!!

Please do share with me your experience and feedback on this article and its relevance.

9 thoughts on “Add action to words

  1. We boast about IITs, IIMs. We boast of Chandraayan. We boast of Chess. We boast of Tendulkar. We boast being poor copy cats of the Westerners. We boast about non-violence, yet we spend billions of borrowed money on borrowed weapons, borrowed technology. We boast about our Summers (infamous Indian Summer), yet we will not be ashamed to wear a full suit on a sultry day. We boast of vast English speaking populace, yet not even 1% of that populace is truly innovative, the rest of 99% are servile to the MNCs serving Western needs and wants. We boast ourselves as largest democracy, yet Marathi’s abhor Biharis; Kannadigas abhor Tamils; Tamils abhor Mallus; et al. We boast of many other things… and we keep boasting for ever and ever, without doing a thing which is our very own. Isn’t it ironic that we invented Zero?! An we boast about that too, alas!! Our’s is a land of scholars, not land of business minded. Our’s is a land of wisdom, not a land of scam-mongers. Our’s is a land of Spirituality, not that of transitory Materialism. May be, that is why Indian’s understood Zero better than anyone else… and boasting is merely Zero action!!!
    Though provoking thoughts, Smita. Thanks.

  2. I liked your article. And even though my life seems to be filled with flux and turmoil from an outside perspective I began with your #1 Instruction which was to “figure out your true problem”. The deeper I looked I couldn’t find any problem at all! So I thank you for the reminder/lesson. Niki

  3. Smita,
    The piece written by you, especially the ‘DOs’ are thought provoking. I am getting stuck at the very first , “Firstly, figure out your true problem.” You may like to share a certain steps about identifying the ‘true’ problem.
    Of course one would be lucky like Niki, if one comes to the conclusion:”The deeper I looked I couldn’t find any problem at all!” But I am not sure if I can make such a statement.
    Looking forward to your thoughts.
    Regards,
    Brig Maindiratta

    • Thanks sir for your precious comment. I am so glad , you took time to read my blog. Will surely share my idea of how to identify the true problem.

      Thanks again sir, will be looking forward to your comments on all my blogs 🙂

  4. I agree with above. What drives me is the “no excuses, no exceptions” chant when I get the urge to break from my goals.

  5. Hurrah! In the end I got a weblog from where I be capable of genuinely obtain helpful information regarding my study and knowledge.

Leave a Reply

